MHM team The MHM team is guided by an approach to the delivery of planning and design services that have been developed over the 50-year span of its practice. MHM’s collaborative effort between the design team and the client is paramount to the success of a project. The MHM approach is based upon our belief in the clarity of process, commitment to comprehensive documentation, and dedication to taking responsibility for the project from beginning to end. This design process, balanced by research, observation, and introspection, yields the best results when conducted through work sessions. We have found this personal, collaborative approach the most satisfactory and appropriate means of integrating  the client’s unique requirements. Ultimately, MHM is dedicated to enhancing a client’s culture, image, and brand while balancing a project’s complex parameters.

Douglas H. McCarty


Jeffrey D. Johnson


David S. Collins


Douglas H. McCarty AIA

President and Chief Executive Officer

Douglas H. McCarty, AIA, is President and Director of Design, establishes the firm’s design philosophy and makes key decisions regarding project management and scheduling issues. Doug graduated from The University of Tennessee College of Architecture and Design in 1972 and attended Princeton University’s Graduate School of Planning. He was the design coordinator for the 1982 Knoxville World’s Fair, coordinating the work of 17 associated design firms and consultants, and designed the Tennessee Amphitheater, recipient of the 1982 Tennessee Society of Architects Award of Excellence. Besides providing leadership for many of MHM’s most well-known projects, such as the Knoxville Convention Center, the UT Art + Architecture Building, Neyland Stadium renovations, the restoration of the Tennessee Theatre, and Clayton Center for the Arts at Maryville College. Doug has lead MHM’s design efforts for the new $160,000,000 Student Union and the $100,000,000 Mossman Science Laboratory Facility at 13th & Cumberland Avenue on the University of Tennessee’s Knoxville campus, and a new $35,000,00 Football Stadium and $40,000,000 Fine Arts Classroom Building on the campus of East Tennessee State University.

Doug is also active in both professional and community groups including the East Tennessee Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, the Community Design Center of East Tennessee, Knoxville Chamber Partnership, the University of Tennessee College of Architecture and Design, and is a 1990 graduate of Leadership Knoxville.

Jeffrey D. Johnson

Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer

Jeffrey D. Johnson, AIA, is the Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer of MHM. A 1976 graduate of The University of Tennessee College of Architecture and Design, Jeff is licensed in Tennessee as both an architect and interior designer. Projects he has led include the Blount County Public Library, the Bristol Public Library, several projects for the Unum Insurance Corporation, the headquarters for the Knoxville Utilities Board and several projects at Maryville College including the Clayton Center for the Arts and renovations to Pearsons Hall. Current clients include the Knoxville Utilities Board, Maryville College, the Tennessee Valley Authority and the Metropolitan Knoxville Airport Authority.

A strong believer in community and professional service, Jeff has served as president of the East Tennessee Chapter of the American Institute of Architects and as the founding chairman of the Episcopal School of Knoxville. He has also been active in the United Way, the American Red Cross, Friends of the Knox County Public Library, the Knoxville Chamber Partnership, the Central Business Improvement District (Downtown Knoxville), the Library Society of UTK and the Knox Country Library Foundation. He is a 2006 graduate of Leadership Knoxville.

David S. Collins

Vice President

Prior to joining MHM in 2000 as a director and principal, David S. Collins, AIA, served as City Architect for the City of Knoxville where he was the mayor’s point person on several major Knoxville development projects including the Knoxville Convention Center, Volunteer Landing Riverfront Development, the Gateway Regional Visitors Center, and several master plan projects. David also served two terms as a Knox County Commissioner. He has been a guest lecturer at the university level on topics involving the political process in public development projects and sustainable urban development. At MHM, David has headed up the Knoxville Central Station project, an intermodal transportation hub in downtown, two new freestanding YMCA facilities, offices for AAA, and the new headquarters building for the Hallsdale-Powell Utility District. A 1979 graduate and valedictorian of the UT College of Architecture and Design, David is past president of the East Tennessee Chapter of the American Institute of Architects and has served on the boards of Keep Knoxville Beautiful, Big Brothers/Big Sisters of Knoxville, and the Knoxville Junior League Advisory Board.