MHM User| 24 Jul 2015| 0 comments

MHM”s Megan Paris received the American Institute of Architects 2015 Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship on July 21, 2015.  We congratulate her on this big accomplishment!

Press Release:

Washington, D.C. – July 21, 2015 – The American Institute of Architects selected ten recipients to receive the 2015 Jason Pettigrew Memorial ARE Scholarship. These ten recipients displayed a passion for the pursuit of licensure, inspiring statements of contribution to the profession and community, and outstanding achievement in the creation, development, and delivery of programs and initiatives for young architect members. All of the recipients were supported by strong letters of recommendation detailing their personal and professional contributions. Each recipient will receive compensation for the entire cost of the Architect Registration Examination (ARE) and a full set of study guides provided by Kaplan Architecture Education.

Here’s the link to the press release which includes write-ups for each recipient.


MHM User| 29 May 2015| 0 comments

McCarty Holsaple McCarty is pleased to announce 2 new Interns – Michael Turko and Haley Zimmerman:

“Michael Turko was raised in Nolensville, Tennessee, where he enjoyed the advantages (and disadvantages) of being the middle child between his older brother and younger sister. He graduated from UT with a Bachelor’s of Architecture in 2015. In his free time, Michael enjoys playing guitar with friends and family, and exploring a new interest in bicycling.”

“Haley is a recent graduate from the University of Tennessee Bachelor of Architecture program. She grew up in a small town of Spring City, TN around a father in furniture design and home restoration.  From an early age decided to pursue a career in architecture. Haley loves to binge watch Netflix series, play soccer, and travel to random places on a whim. Above all else, she loves to spend time with her family, who have been her motivation and support every step of the way.”


Michael Haley

MHM User| 14 May 2015| 0 comments

On May 13, MHM’s Designer, Brian Pittman was awarded the “National Historic Preservation Award” from the Daughters of the American Revolution for the restoration of his residence, the Mary Boyce Temple House.   Ms. Temple founded the local chapter just three years after the national chapter in 1893.

MHM User| 29 Apr 2015| 0 comments

Don Horton, MHM’s Sustainability Coordinator, reports the Oak Ridge National Laboratory Chestnut Ridge Maintenance Shops project has the Energy Star setup to allow the USGBC to receive energy and water use data.

The LEED Submittal is 60 points.

MHM User| 20 Apr 2015| 0 comments


Premier East Tennessee architectural firm McCarty Holsaple McCarty is celebrating 50 years of design in 2015.

Out of 15 projects identified by the East Tennessee Chapter of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) as the best examples of architecture in the region in the past 150 years, six of these projects either were designed by or underwent significant renovations under McCarty Holsaple McCarty.  The firm has made a transformative mark on Knoxville’s built environment.

“Over the past 50 years, our firm has been fortunate to work with great clients who are leaders of some of the most visible organizations in the area,” said Doug McCarty, president and CEO of McCarty Holsaple McCarty.  “Because our clients expect the absolute best, our buildings have been able to stand the test of time.”

MHM has been involved in the design of some of Knoxville’s most iconic projects including the 1982 World’s Park, the Tennessee Amphitheatre, L&N Station renovations, restoration of the historic Tennessee Theatre, Knoxville Convention Center, Lawson McGhee Library, the Bank of American Building, Volunteer Landing, Knoxville Convention Center, City-County Building and the McGhee Tyson Airport Terminal.

In addition to its impact on downtown Knoxville, MHM has designed numerous buildings on the campus of the University of Tennessee.

“The University of Tennessee has offered us a chance to work on many projects through the years,” McCarty said.  “We chose to hold our anniversary celebration at Neyland Stadium’s West Club, because when you look out the window, the campus is dotted with our firm’s buildings in all directions.

“We are very grateful for the opportunity to have an impact on a first-class institution that educates students from across the nation and around the world.”

MHM designed the John C. Hodges Library, Andy Holt Tower, Clarence Brown Theatre, Neyland-Thompson Sports Center, Art and Architecture Building, Taylor College of Law, Howard Baker Center and the Neyland Stadium renovations among projects.

The design for the Art and Architecture Building was selected in a competition from among 42 other design submissions from firms across the country.  The building was especially significant as the firm’s founder, Bruce McCarty, helped to establish the University of Tennessee’s College of Architecture in 1965.

The architectural firm’s relationship with the university endures to this day.  MHM is in a joint venture to design the Student Union Building, which will replace the old University Center at Cumberland Avenue and Volunteer Boulevard.  Design and construction of the facility was a $160 undertaking – the largest single project in the university’s history, with completion of all phases expected in 2017.

The firm was founded by modernist architect Bruce McCarty 50 years ago with longtime business partner, Robert Holsaple.  In 1983, when Doug McCarty became president of the firm, the company took the name McCarty Holsaple McCarty.

“My father built a foundation of excellence and innovation that we have built 50 years of design upon, “ Doug McCarty said.  “Our strong team of young, up-and-coming architects are ready to build on that legacy and design East Tennessee’s built environment over the next 50 years.

Shareholders in the firm include Doug McCarty, Jeff Johnson, David Collins and John Gaddis.  MHM recently announced that several of its young leaders would take new roles as shareholder in the company including Nathan Honeycutt, Barbara Tallent, John Thurman, Li Wang and Scott Webb.

MHM User| 25 Feb 2015| 0 comments

Click the link for a new video discussing the design process by architects.  This video was produced by the East Tennessee Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, and features several MHM projects that include Knoxville Transit Center (with Bullock Smith), the Tennessee Theater Renovations and the UT Art + Architecture Building.

MHM User| 25 Feb 2015| 0 comments

The link to this video was created by Leadership Knoxville.  MHM is a proud supporter of this organization!


MHM User| 23 Jan 2015| 0 comments

The East Tennessee USGBC Green Light Awards were held the evening of Tuesday, January 20 at the Square Room, downtown Knoxville.  MHM’s project, KEURIG Green Mountain won the Green Light Award.  Accepting the award on behalf of KEURIG Green Mountain was Mrs. Stephanie Myers, their Community Relations Liaison.

To read more:

MHM User| 07 Jan 2015| 0 comments

Athletic Business magazine conducted a poll to find out which stadium is the best venue for college playoffs – Neyland Stadium won!  Read more:

MHM User| 07 Jan 2015| 0 comments

January’s edition of the Greater Knoxville Business Journal showcases it’s “40 Under Forty, Knoxville’s Best Assets of diverse young leaders”.  MHM is proud of John Thurman, Associate and Project Manager, is one of the 40.

Read more below: